Hook-ITA fork classes are the same world -wide under ISO standards.  The standard FEM hook style fork arms  come in two types, “A’ & “B”.  The difference in the types reflect differences in the ground-to-carriage  distance when the mast id fully lowered.  Type “A” is primarily  used for indoor and many outdoor trucks.  Type “B” is primarily intended for outdoor trucks.  However, the applications  can be interchangeable.  Type “B” forks can replace type “A” forks, but not vice-versa because the type “A” would not reach the ground.

Hook Fork Classes

  • Class I is forklifts up to 1,999 LB at 24” load center
  • Class II is forklifts rated 2,000 LB through 5,500 LB @ 24” load center
  • Class III is forklifts rated  6,000 LB  to 10,000 LB @ 24”  load center
  • Class IV is forklifts rated 10,000 LB to 17,500 LB @ 24” load center
  • Class V is forklifts rated from 17,500 LB to 24,000 LB at 24” load center

Can’t tell what you have? Measure the Carriage Bars! ( Top of top to Bottom of bottom)

  • Class I:  13”
  • Class II:  16”
  • Class III:  20”
  • Class IV:  25”
  • Class V:  28.67”

Under-Clearance by Type

  • Class I a                3”                                         Class I b               4.5”
  • Class II a              3”                                          Class II b              6”
  • Class III a             3”                                          Class III b             8”
  • Class IV a             5”                                          Class IV b            10”
  • Class V a              5”                                          Class V b             10.12”

*Rough terrain trucks will possibly have higher under-clearance, but not always.